Royal Opera House Muscat

Royal Opera House Muscat, Sultanate of Oman

Royal Opera House Muscat, Sultanate of Oman

In the last two weeks, I was on the road and spent most of those times in Sultanate of Oman. I spent 7 days in Muscat, the capital, enjoyed my free times by wandering around the city, and found this opera house along the way. Royal Opera House Muscat, built in 2001 ordered by Sultan Qaboos Bin Said Al Said, the ruler of Sultanate of  Oman, that had been always fan to classical musics and arts. Many performance had been conducted there, such as opera and theatre performances, music concerts, ballet dancings performed by famous artists such as Andrea Bocelli, London Philharmonic Orchestra, American Ballet Theatre, including Arab artist such as Majida El Roumi. It was so bad, there were no music or dancing performances while I was there. However, I still could visit the building and see how beautiful it is.

Royal Opera House Muscat, Sultanate of Oman

Royal Opera House Muscat, Sultanate of Oman

The corridor of Royal Opera House Muscat

The corridor of Royal Opera House Muscat

Royal Opera House Muscat accepts visitor every day (except Friday, if I’m not mistaken) from 08.30 – 10.30 am by paying 2 OMR for entrance fee. There will be guide accompanying visitors during the tour. The building can accomodate 1000 people. The architecture of opera house refllects Omani architecture, consist of concert theatres, auditorium, garden and shops gallery. The floors are covered by Italian tiles. There are no paintings decorating the wall or ceiling, as Prague State Opera House (the only opera house that I ever visited for watching Swan Lake performance), instead beautiful wooden craft using Arabic architecture style. The building has five levels, where 1st level is purposed to Sultan’s family and other VIP guests.

11 thoughts on “Royal Opera House Muscat

  1. Wow. The structure itself is magnificent. I wonder how much money did they spend in building this giant, Mbak. It should be enough to feed us all :haha.
    The interior is splendid, too. I love the lighting inside, you captured it very well. Now I’m thinking on how much should I spend if I want to watch a performance there. It must be expensive….

    Liked by 1 person

    • I couldn’t think about the price to build the opera house, Gara. But I think it’s not big problem for the country, since they look so developed. If you want to watch the performance, if I’m not mistaken, the cheapest one will cost you around 15 USD..

      Liked by 1 person

      • They look so developed, while a country not far from them is struggling from war :huhu.
        15 USD, hm… I think earlier that it will cost hundreds :hihi.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I was thinking the same. 15 USD is quite reasonable. However, I had no idea where the seat will be placed, probably at the most behind where we could not see much things. Oman is quite developed. I have no idea about Yemen, the country which has big crisis at the moment
        But the other gulf countries, apparently they’re developed until the war destroyed everything. Let’s hope the war wi be ending soon..

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

